Visa scheme expanded to 23 Universities | Hudson McKenzie

Visa scheme expanded to 23 Universities | Hudson McKenzie

January 10, 2018 | Immigration, Latest Thinking, News

The Home Office recently announced that the UK visa pilot program will be expanded to twenty-three universities nation-wide.

The visa pilot program was initially set up so to make the process for international master’s students wishing to study in the UK easier.

The program is currently limited to only four universities (Oxford, Cambridge, Bath and Imperial College of London). However, the program will now be expanded to twenty-three universities, based upon low visa refusal rates within each region.

Those effected by this expansion will predominately be Tier 4 visas or permits for Non-EEA nationals wishing to study a masters at any of the twenty-three universities expanded too.

Furthermore, through this program, all students will be able to stay in the UK for up to six months after they have finished their course (which is only four months for other graduates).

This means that students will have a higher chance of being able to obtain work and therefore convert their student visa into a work visa.

The Universities added to the program are as follows:

  • Cardiff University
  • Goldsmiths, University of London
  • Harper Adams University
  • Newcastle University
  • Queen’s University, Belfast
  • The Royal Central School of Speech and Drama
  • University of Bristol
  • Durham University

As well as universities in following areas: East Anglia, Edinburgh, Essex. Exeter, Leicester, Liverpool, Manchester, Nottingham, Reading, Sheffield, Southampton, Wales, Warwick and York.

If you’d like to discuss this article further or have any immigration enquiries, contact our highly specialised immigration team today on 020 3318 5794 or by email at