Taiwan added to the Tier 5 youth mobility scheme - | Hudson McKenzie

Taiwan added to the Tier 5 youth mobility scheme

December 25, 2011 | News

From 1 January 2012, Taiwan will join the list of countries and territories that participate in the UK’s youth mobility scheme, under Tier 5 of the points-based system.

The countries that already participate in the scheme are Australia, Canada, New Zealand, Japan and Monaco.

The youth mobility scheme is for young people from participating countries and territories who want to come and experience life in the UK. Every year, the UK government allocates a number of places on the youth mobility scheme for each country and territory. For 2012, Taiwan, Japan and Monaco will each receive an allocation of 1,000 places. This is in line with the number of places offered to UK nationals on their reciprocal schemes.

Australia, Canada and New Zealand’s allocations will match the number of UK nationals who were issued visas on their reciprocal schemes in the previous year:

  • Australia – 32,500 places
  • Canada – 5,000 places
  • New Zealand – 10,000 places

The Immigration Rules will be amended on 1 January 2012 to reflect the addition of Taiwan to the scheme. A statement of changes to the Immigration Rules (HC 1693) was laid before Parliament on 8 December 2011.

If you have any questions regarding the above or need to understand how these changes will affect you, please send an email to one of our London Immigration Lawyers or at londoninfo@hudsonmckenzie.com.